putting historical jewish imagery to new use

I was recently asked to design a bookplate for the prayerbooks for Kol Tzedek, the West Philadelphia shul that I belong to.

I decided to use imagery from the building of the former West Philadelphia Jewish Community Center, at Cobbs Creek Parkway and Ludlow St.

I started from this:

Former West Philadelphia JCC (detail)

Former West Philadelphia JCC (detail)

To this:

synagogue study 1

synagogue study 1

To this:

bookplate -arabic

I enjoyed this process so much, I’d love to do it again.

Please let me know if you, your family, or your congregation has a Jewish artifact that you would like to give a new life, by using its imagery in new graphic design for any number of uses.

About zoecohenart

artist www.zoecohen.com

2 comments

  1. Sara Narva

    very cool posting and fun to see the progression!

  2. lovely. a great way to preserve some beautiful old art.

Leave a Reply

